The FB one as a competitive advantage at PMC.

scrolldown

“The FB one keeps us competitive”

“The FB one keeps us competitive,” says Ben Barnett, President and Chief Operating Officer of Principal Manufacturing Corporation (PMC). The decision to invest in Qcision’s newest generation of presses came easily after having experienced the economic benefits of the servo-mechanical Qcision XFT 2500 press. Thanks to its improved cost-effective production capabilities and the new possibilities provided by the FB one, PMC has already won new orders.

The Qcision’s FB one press differs from its predecessors particularly in terms of increased productivity, energy consumption and lower environmental impact. In these times when energy costs are an increasingly critical factor, the FB one, with its energy-optimized functionality, makes an important contribution to reducing operating expenses. The direct drive greatly reduces energy consumption. Compared to other presses, however, it can do one thing above all: achieve top performance.

PMC is the first company in the USA to take advantage of the benefits of the FB one. As a supplier of ready-to-use parts for the automotive industry, PMC is seeking to increase production for the electromobility sector. To meet this objective, they needed fineblanking presses with more power. In spring 2022, Ben Barnett, President and COO of PMC, visited Jona (Switzerland) where he could experience the FB one in action and discuss all aspects of the press in detail with its chief developer, Markus Schaltegger. According to Barnett, it pays to invest in state-of-the-art technology, which is why he decided to buy an FB one. “Working with a press that has the latest technology makes us more competitive.” His calculations seem to be working out for the company. With this argument in its favour - that the new FB one has greater capacities and capabilities - PMC was able to succeed in a tender against its competitors and secure an order for next autumn. “We would have needed the press anyway, but the fact that we were able to win an order because of it is perfect,” says Barnett.

The 1st use of the fineblanking press

The XFT 2500 press is already in use in PMC's machine park and, together with the FB one, will soon replace the older presses. Ben Barnett, himself an electric car driver, is impressed by Qcision’s technological development and fineblanking presses, “Qcision produces the most fineblanking presses in the world. But only because they are the best presses – honestly, I don’t see any better alternatives.” He is particularly enthusiastic about the FB one because of its hydraulic drive, practical modular design, and high speed. It will be used for the production of parts for the drive train of combustion engines and electric motors. Barnett adds, “It will also be ideal for orders from the industrial sector.”

FB one as a marketing tool

Investments in the machine park are being noticed –internally and externally by existing and potential employees and customers. Barnett believes that the impact of investments should not be underestimated. “The FB one is also a marketing tool. Employees, as well as customers, should know that we are investing in the future.” PMC is a fineblanking company that Ben Barnett runs with his brother, Rick Barnett. For the past 24 years, he has been working in the family business, which mainly supplies the automotive industry and is characterised by many downstream processes.

Principal Manufacturing Corporation

Principal Manufacturing Corporation is an IATF 16949:2016 and ISO 14001:2015 certified company providing engineering solutions to automotive, industrial and OEM companies worldwide. We are a full-service supplier of ready-to-use parts, providing engineering support to reduce costs and accelerate time-to-market through our extensive in-house tooling fleet.

Find out more
about us and what we do

Company

Company

Technology

Technology

Service

Service

Die FB one als Wettbewerbsvorteil bei PMC

scrolldown

„Mit der FB one bleiben wir wettbewerbsfähig“

«Mit der FB one bleiben wir wettbewerbsfähig», erklärt Ben Barnett, Präsident und Operativer Leiter von Principal Manufacturing Corporation (PMC). Nach dem wirtschaftlichen Erfolg der im Einsatz stehenden servomechanischen Qcision Presse XFT 2500 hat er sich zusätzlich für eine Investition in die neuste Pressen-Generation, die FB one, entschieden. Dank der kostengünstigen Produktion sowie neuen Möglichkeiten hat PMC bereits neue Aufträge gewonnen.

Die FB one-Presse von Qcision unterscheidet sich von ihren Vorgängerinnen insbesondere in der erhöhten Produktivität sowie im Energieverbrauch und der niedrigeren Umweltbelastung. Gerade in Zeiten, in denen die Energiekosten zu einem kritischen Faktor werden, leistet die FB one mit ihrer energieoptimierten Funktionsweise einen grossen Beitrag zur Senkung des Betriebsaufwands. Der Direktantrieb reduziert den Energieverbrauch massiv. Mit anderen Pressen verglichen kann sie aber vor allem eines: Höchstleistungen erbringen.

Die Firma PMC ist die erste, die diese Vorteile für sich nutzt. Weil PMC vermehrt für den Bereich Elektromobilität produzieren möchte, benötigen sie Feinschneidpressen mit mehr Kraft. Im Frühling 2022 war Ben Barnett, Präsident und COO von PMC bereits in Jona (Schweiz) zu besuch. Dabei konnte er die FB one in Aktion erleben und deren Chefentwickler, Markus Schaltegger, alle Fragen zur Presse stellen. Nachdem Schaltegger ihm Rede und Antwort stand, war Ben Barnett von den Vorteilen überzeugt. Er vertritt die Haltung, dass es sich bei Investitionen lohnt, auf state-of-the-art-Maschinen zu setzen und hat sich deshalb für den Kauf einer FB one entschieden. «Mit einer Presse zu arbeiten, die über die neueste Technologie verfügt, macht uns wettbewerbsfähiger», zeigt er sich überzeugt. Seine Rechnung scheint aufzugehen. Mit dem Argument in der Hand, der neuen FB one grössere Kapazitäten und Fähigkeiten zu besitzen, konnte sich PMC bei einer Ausschreibung gegen die Konkurrenten durchsetzen und sich einen Auftrag für nächsten Herbst sichern. Ben Barnett meint: «Wir hätten die Presse sowieso gebraucht, aber dass wir damit einen Auftrag gewinnen konnten, passt perfekt.»

Der 1. Einsatz der Feinschneidpresse

Die Presse XFT 2500 ist bereits im Maschinenpark von PMC eingesetzt und zusammen mit der FB one werden demnächst die älteren Pressen ersetzt. Ben Barnett, seines Zeichens Elektroautofahrer, ist von der Technologieentwicklung und den Feinschneidpressen von Qcision überzeugt und sagt: «Qcision stellt die meisten Feinschneidpressen der Welt her. Aber nur, weil es die besten Pressen sind. Ich sehe – ehrlich gesagt – keine guten Alternativen dazu.» Von der FB one schwärmt er insbesondere wegen dem hydraulischen Antrieb, dem praktischen, modularen Aufbau und der hohen Geschwindigkeit. Eingesetzt wird sie für die Produktion von Teilen für den Antriebsstrang von Verbrennern sowie Elektromotoren. Barnett ergänzt: «Aber auch für die Aufträge aus dem industriellen Bereich wird sie ideal genutzt werden können.»

FB one als Marketing-Instrument.

Investitionen in den Maschinenpark bleiben jeweils nicht unbemerkt – sowohl intern als auch extern. Denn die bestehenden wie auch potenziellen Mitarbeitenden und auch Kunden nehmen die Investition zur Kenntnis. Barnett meint, diese Ausstrahlung sei nicht zu unterschätzen: «Die FB one ist auch ein Marketinginstrument. Die Mitarbeitenden wie auch die Kunden sollen wis-sen, dass wir in die Zukunft investieren.» PMC ist ein Feinschneidunternehmen, das Ben Barnett zusammen mit seinem Bruder, Rick Barnett, führt. Seit 24 Jahren arbeitet er im Familienunternehmen, das hauptsächlich die Auto-mobilindustrie beliefert und sich durch viele nachgelagerte Prozesse auszeichnet.

Principal Manufacturing Corporation

Principal Manufacturing Corporation ist ein nach IATF 16949:2016 und ISO 14001:2015 zertifiziertes Unternehmen, das technische Lösungen für Automobil-, Industrie- und OEM-Unternehmen weltweit anbietet. Wir sind ein Full-Service-Lieferant für gebrauchsfertige Teile und bieten technische Unterstützung, um die Kosten zu senken und die Markteinführung durch unseren umfangreichen internen Werkzeugpark zu beschleunigen.

Erfahren Sie mehr
über uns und was wir tun

Das Unternehmen

Company

Technologie

Technologie

Service

Service